top of page
Search
  • ros5240

Welcome


Since my father gave me a copy of Captain Horatio Hornblower, I have been a reader of fiction, particularly mysteries and historic sea adventures.

Following years of writing reports and investment memoranda, I started with a less ambitious thought of writing magazine articles. My wife suggested writing a mystery, if not the great American novel, something that would be fun to read in front of a fire or at the beach.

Except the wartime flashbacks, bits of history, trivia and geography, the novel is researched make believe. As I assume is typical, the chief character and I share some traits and values. I rarely drink alcohol preferring chocolate milk and iced tea, but I have an aptitude with firearms and think sailing is a gift from the almighty. Elizabeth was a tribute to my wife and the two are similar including their gross disregard for hot water on boats. Other than the ‘killer’ part, Ed is a composite of two old friends and their exploits. The Pinafore is also a composite based on two of my favorite boats.

Someone, maybe Stephen King, said a book writes itself; I found this an easy argument to defend as I was often looking forward to what would happen next.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday, Marines!

Two hundred and forty-four years ago, a Corps of Marines was created by a resolution of the Continental Congress. Tun Tavern in Philadelphia is regarded as the birthplace of the Corps and the origin o

Summer is here.

Going to the beach? Maybe the mountains? No matter were you go for your vacation, take a copy of The Narragansett Files, it's the perfect companion for the beach, sitting by the lake or pool.

bottom of page